2019 Emmy Awards: Winners


Fleabag and Chernobyl were the big winners at the 2019 Primetime Emmy Awards on Sunday night. In addition to Fleabag being named Outstanding Comedy Series, creator and star Phoebe Waller-Bridge won for Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series and Lead Actress in a Comedy Series, while Harry Bradbeer won Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series for an episode he helmed. Meanwhile, HBO’s Chernobyl won for Outstanding Writing and Directing in a Limited Series or Movies, as well as Outstanding Limited Series. History was also made when 21-year-old Jharrel Jerome became the youngest person to win an Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie for his role in When They See Us; he also became the first Afro-Latino to win for acting. And Pose star Billy Porter got one step closer to winning an EGOT when took home his first Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series and became the first openly gay black man to win in the category.


  • Best Comedy: Fleabag (Amazon)
  • Best Drama: Game of Thrones (HBO)
  • Best Limited Series: Chernobyl (HBO)
  • Best Actress, Comedy: Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag
  • Best Actor, Comedy: Bill Hader, Barry
  • Best Actress, Drama: Jodie Comer, Killing Eve
  • Best Actor, Drama: Billy Porter, Pose
  • Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie: Michelle Williams, Fosse/Verdon
  • Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie: Jharrel Jerome, When They See Us
  • Supporting Actress, Comedy: Alex Borstein, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Supporting Actor, Comedy: Tony Shalhoub, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Supporting Actress, Drama: Julia Garner, Ozark
  • Supporting Actor, Drama: Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones
  • Supporting Actress, Limited Series or Movie: Patricia Arquette, The Act
  • Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie: Ben Whishaw, A Very English Scandal
  • Television Movie: Black Mirror: Bandersnatch (Netflix)
  • Variety Sketch Series: Saturday Night Live (NBC)
  • Variety Talk Series: Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (HBO)
  • Reality Competition Program: RuPaul’s Drag Race (VH1)
  • Writing for a Comedy Series: Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag (“Episode 1”)
  • Writing for a Drama Series: Jesse Armstrong, Succession (“Nobody Is Ever Missing”)
  • Writing for a Limited Series or Movie: Craig Mazin, Chernobyl
  • Writing for a Variety Series: Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (HBO)
  • Directing for a Comedy Series: Harry Bradbeer, Fleabag (“Episode 1”)
  • Directing for a Drama Series: Jason Bateman, Ozark (“Reparations”)
  • Directing for a Limited Series or Movie: Johan Renck, Chernobyl